Gershwin & The Great Tradition:
Levi Hammer In Recital

Special EventLevi Hammer at the Piano
Saturday, May 7, 2011 at 2 PM
Akron-Summit County Main Library Auditorium

Levi Hammer, piano

Free Concert!

Assistant conductor Levi Hammer returns to his pianistic roots in a recital featuring the music of George Gershwin in the context of the great classical tradition. A lifelong student of the classics, Gershwin was also drawn to the modernist tendencies of his day — especially those of his sometimes tennis partner, Arnold Schoenberg, who called Gershwin’s art “a contribution to the music of the whole world.” That two seemingly disparate composers could hold each other in such high esteem is a testament to the deep integrity of both of their musics. Schoenberg was a student of Brahms’ music, and Berg a student of Schoenberg’s; Gershwin in turn venerated them all. Hear their music performed for solo piano by Mr. Hammer in Gershwin and the Great Tradition.

Watch video preview!


GERSHWIN - Three Preludes
1. Allegro ben ritmato e deciso
2. Andante con moto e poco rubato
3. Allegro ben ritmato e deciso

BRAHMS - Six Piano Pieces, Op. 118
1. Intermezzo. Allegro non assai, ma molto appassionato
2. Intermezzo. Andante teneramente
3. Ballade. Allegro energico
4. Intermezzo. Allegretto un poco agitato
5. Romance. Andante
6. Intermezzo. Andante, largo e mesto

BERG – Piano Sonata, Op. 1


SCHOENBERG – Three Piano Pieces, Op. 11
1. Mäßige Veirtel
2. Mäßige Achtel
3. Bewegte Achtel

GERSHWIN - George Gershwin’s Songbook (1932)
1. Swanee
2. Nobody But You
3. I’ll Build a Stairway to Paradise
4. Do It Again
5. Fascinating Rhythm
6. Oh, Lady Be Good
7. Somebody Loves Me
8. Sweet and Low Down
9. That Certain Feeling
10. The Man I Love
11. Clap Yo’ Hands
12. Do Do Do
13. My One and Only
14. ‘S Wonderful
15. Strike Up the Band
16. Liza
17. Who Cares?
18. I Got Rhythm